As mentioned before, I couldn’t stay away and to that end I had purchased 7 tickets for the Paralympics in the Olympic stadium.
The day arrived and I made sure I had all the things I needed, including my Olympic pass and my Olympic Jacket and made my way up to London. I had a meeting in London in the morning, so I couldn’t dress completely casual, but was able to wear black trousers and a suitable shirt.

It was another beautiful day.

Because I was going to the Paralympics I made sure that I had packed my decent camera with me, and I noticed quite a few Olympic themed items along my walk along the Thames path as I made my way to my meeting.

He is taller than St Pauls cathedral!

He is taller than St Pauls cathedral!

Pirate Wenlock, yarr me hearties!

Pirate Wenlock, yarr me hearties!

An early morning stretch is important

An early morning stretch is important

The first one I passed on my walk was the “early morning stretch” outside Southwark Cathedral. Not sure how many others noticed him, not everyone knows about Southwark Cathedral or where it is. It’s a beautiful place, right next to London Bridge rail station, and when I am lucky and working in that part of London, I get to walk past the cathedral on my way to the office or meeting.

Continuing my walk along the riverbank, I noticed the two Wenlock figures. I was really pleased that I had my camera with me that morning!

The meeting was fine, we discussed lots and I doubt whether those of you reading this would be that interested to be honest, so we must skip forward a few hours.

The meeting finished, and once again I was outside in the bright and warm sunshine. It was back to the London Underground and the route I considered that I knew well, from London Bridge to Stratford station using the Jubilee line.
And the memories started to come flooding back, the sights and smells of the line, and then to be met with all the paraphernalia of the games as I arrived at Stratford station.

It was almost like I hadn’t been away, although the Olympic rings had now been replaced with the Paralympic symbol the atmosphere was the same. Would my passcard work I wondered. Well I decided not to find out, there was no point as I had tickets to the park and stadium anyway.

I spent the day wandering around the park, doing all the things that I didn’t get the chance to do whilst volunteering there. The atmosphere was electric and the support stands were fantastic. I even got the chance to pose with the Paralympic torch, not lit, but a great experience.

Soon it was time to meet up with the rest of my party. This would be the first time for them, and I was eager to show them around as much as I could.

to be continued….

