So we left it last time with me registering as a volunteer for the Olympics in September 2010. I had registered, told my friends and that was it really. Nothing more I could do. I checked the news regularly, saw that many others had volunteered too, and as more and more pictures of the Olympic park started to be shown I took more of an interest, but not much as it was still a long way away.

Locoq advised that it would take a while to find out if we were to be selected for an interview, and for many it would be 12 months before they hear. Interviews would start from February 2011, but they told us not to panic if we didn’t hear anything for a while.
The news media however did provide us with the odd update here and there, and yes over 240,000 people had registered from across the globe. I would be lucky to get an interview.

So I was very pleased and a little surprised when on the 1st March 2011 @16:25, the e-mail arrived…. The title “Well done! You have an interview” sort of gave it away, but yes I had an interview, ok so one of 125,000 people to be interviewed, but it was a step forward. Now I was beginning to get excited. Unfortunately my interview date was set for a weekend in April when I would be out of the country, typical, however they were incredibly helpful and booked up a new date for me June 1st 2011, 3 months away, crumbs. This worried me a little, as I was concerned that they may run out of posts by then, but I had an interview. I was starting to get a little bit excited.

My original April date passed, and I wondered what if? But I still had an interview, and found a volunteers Facebook page, so was able to keep up with the views and thoughts of many thousands of others, many of whom had not yet been invited to an interview. I was beginning to feel a bit lucky.

A week before my interview date, the excitement began to build, “This time next week I will be in an interview for volunteers at the Olympic games”.

And then the day arrived. My interview was in the Excel centre at 10:30 am. Being relatively local and not wanting to be late, I set of nice and early, working my way through the London morning rush hour on the trains, tubes and DLR, reaching the Excel centre nice and early. A little to early at 9am, but it was a beautiful warm June day, so I didn’t mind, and I was just a wee bit excited by this time.

I knew I was getting close when I saw this sign!
251290_10150262865588690_2933536_n

I checked in as I was advised to, and waited patiently and quietly to be called in. We were to be called in as groups of about 20, going through 4 stages. The first stage was all about getting properly registered and having our pictures taken, before moving into the “history of the Olympic games” section. This was interesting, as we could find out more about the park and how it was growing, and also chat a little with some of the other interviewees. None of us knew how we would get on or even which area we would be in if we were successful, but all were excited and most would be happy with toilet cleaning!

For the 3rd stage we were ushered into a small cinema room, where we were shown a video about the interview and recruitment process starring Eddie Izzard. It was very informative, and funny, and it was at this point I remembered that I still had my sunglasses on top of my head (it was a beautiful sunny morning remember!) and there was a film crew in the room so I must have looked like a right doofus, but more of that later. We were advised during this stage that the final stage was the actual interview and during the interview it was important that we shoud be ourselves.

So I did, and although I was a bit nervous, I was still myself during the interview. I answered the questions as best as I could, although the favourite sport one was a challenge for a moment (instantly thought of Formula 1 which is not an Olympic sport, so settled on the 100 metres!), and tried to appear as enthusiastic as I could be (which actually wasn’t that hard). It took about 25 minutes and disappointingly when I emerged from my interview booth I noticed there many of the others were still being interviewed. Was that a bad sign, had my interview been too quick, did she want to get rid of me because I wasn’t good enough?

So I mooched around for a bit, and bought some memorabilia for my niece and nephew from the shop, as this may be the last time I have the chance. I ate some of the free chocolates, and spoke to some of the others. We were all as nervous, but equally excited too! The film crew were still about, but as they were interviewing someone else, I wasn’t too concerned.

We were advised during the interview that we would find out if we were successful from September 2011 onwards, and not to bother chasing or trying to find out before then.

And that was it, I left the Excel centre shortly afterwards, and made my way home. Not much more I could do. So I waited, no point worrying about it until September was there!

Forgot to mention that all the interviewers were volunteers too! They were brilliant.
254463_10150262865718690_2712407_n
Not sure if we were permitted to take snaps inside the recruitment centre, but I did take one!

