Darwin’s origin of the species is fantastic, no really, evolution is fantastic. Well let’s face it, without it we wouldn’t be here, and I wouldn’t be typing this blog.

As we know in the kingdom of the blind, the one-eyed person is king, then the 2 eyed and so on. Of course those attributes that don’t work, or are no longer useful get replaced with those that do, hence the reason we don’t have 3 ears, or 6 eyes etc!

And I’m getting older – can you see where this is going?

So evolution has helped us to breed, removed all those attributes that are no longer useful and helped us learn how to remain breathing and living for longer.

And as I get older, I am happy with those things that begin to stop working, I know I will go grey, oh and I will start to lose more hair from the top of my head as some of my cells struggle to regenerate and my body starts to slow down.

So why then as I get older and my cells struggle to regenerate, does hair start to grow with abundance from a variety of locations that appear to me to be completely useless and random?

Nose hair, ear hair, toe hair, armpit hair, eyebrow hair? Why when we reach a certain age do all these cells suddenly start working with abundance, and growing stuff where I least need or want it I ask?

Come on evolution! Catch up, and let me at least grow older gracefully, without having to shave vast swathes of hair off various bits before I grow into a grey yeti :-s

